Posted May 8, 2004

This is copyrighted material--the article, the pictures, and the introduction--and may not be copied or reproduced in any form, including on other websites, without permission of the authors.



County Origins of Specified Units


by Kirby Ross


Also by this author:

James O. Broadhead: Ardent Unionist, Unrepentant Slaveholder by Kirby Ross


Autobiography of Sam Hildebrand

Autobiography of Samuel S. Hildebrand
by Kirby Ross, Samuel S. Hildebrand, James W. Evans, A. Wendell Keith

available at

 The True Life Wild West Memoir of a Bush-Popping Cow Waddy

By Charley Hester, Edited by Kirby Ross

available at


On April 8, 1865, a second organization called the Missouri Militia was created, this one by the State Convention.  Eighty-four regiments, six battalions, and two independent companies were formed, all of which have been identified and are listed on the chart below.

See also: Federal Militia in Missouri by Kirby Ross

1. Home Guard 1861

2. Six-Month Militia 1861

3. Missouri State Militia 1861-1865

4.Enrolled Missouri Militia 1862-1865

5. Provisional Enrolled Missouri Militia 1863-1865

6. Provisional Enrolled Militia (G.O. #107) 1864-1865

7. Missouri Militia (G.O. #3) 1865

8. Missouri Militia (State Convention) 1865-late 19th century


1st Regiment M.M. Ray County A.J. Bair  
2nd Regiment M.M. Buchanan County Wm. R. Penick  
3rd Regiment M.M. Buchanan County Cyrus J. Missemer  
4th Regiment M.M Buchanan County Joseph Thompson (Maj.)  
5th Regiment M.M. Osage & Maries Counties James M. Dennis  
6th Regiment M.M. Jackson & Cass Counties H.H. Williams  
8th Regiment M.M. Franklin County Daniel Q. Gale  
9th Regiment M.M. Moniteau County F.W. Hickox  
10th Regiment M.M. Cooper County Andrew P. McKee  
11th Regiment M.M. Cooper County John Fessler  
12th Regiment M.M. Greene County Hosea G. Mullings  
13th Regiment M.M. Greene County Jacob Hursh  
14th Regiment M.M. Livingston County Robert S. Moore  
15th Regiment M.M. Jefferson County Anton Yerger  
16th Regiment M.M. Audrain County Winfield S. Wood  
    William E. Jones  
17th Regiment M.M. Polk & Cedar Counties James J. Akard  
18th Regiment M.M. Dallas & Laclede Counties Milton Burch  
19th Regiment M.M. Webster, Douglas, Wright, Texas, Ozark, & Howell Counties John S. Coleman  
20th Regiment M.M. Lawrence, Newton, McDonald, & Barry Counties John M. Filler  
21st Regiment M.M. Nodaway County Josiah Coleman  
22nd Regiment M.M. Clay County James M. Jones  
23rd Regiment M.M. Mississippi County          ---------  
24th Regiment M.M. Iron County William T. Leeper Note:  Leeper, a prominent Missouri State Militia captain during the war as well as Radical Unionist candidate for Congress in 1864, was commonly referred to as "Colonel Leeper" in the post-war period.  He was quite controversial and has in modern times been the target of revisionist historical writings in southeast Missouri that assert he lied about being a colonel.  However his appointment at that rank and as senior commanding officer of the 24th Missouri Militia Regiment on 23 June 1865 is easily verified through the 1865 Missouri Adjutant General's Report as well as through personal and regimental records at the Missouri State Archives.
25th Regiment M.M. Cole County Herman L. Bruns  
26th Regiment M.M. Miller & Camden Counties T.J. Babcoke  
27th Regiment M.M. Knox County Jacob Pugh  
28th Regiment M.M. Adair County J.B. Dodson  
29th Regiment M.M. Linn County Marion Cave  
30th Regiment M.M. Andrew County William P. Hobson  
31st Regiment M.M. Grundy County Henry V. Stall  
32nd Regiment M.M. Holt County Geo. W. Kelly (Lt. Col.)  
33rd Regiment M.M. Atchison County George Steck (Lt. Col.)  
34th Regiment M.M. Gentry County C.G. Comstock (Lt. Col.)  
35th Regiment M.M. Mercer County David M. King  
36th Regiment M.M. Carroll County Daniel Hoover (Lt. Col.)  
37th Regiment M.M. Putnam County James B. Harper  
38th Regiment M.M. Clinton County H.L. Rogers  
39th Regiment M.M. Cape Girardeau County Geo. F. Thilenues  
40th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City N. Schittner  
41st Regiment M.M. St. Louis City Christian Ploeser  
42nd Regiment M.M. St. Louis City Ezra O. English  
43rd Regiment M.M. St. Louis City T. Niederweiser  
44th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City James Blood  
45th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City John McFall  
46th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City Henry Hildebrand  
47th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City E.C. Harrington  
48th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City Phil H. Murphy  
49th Regiment M.M. St. Louis City Wm. D. Bowen  
50th Regiment M.M. Pacific Railroad Joseph B. Wilde (Lt. Col.)  
51st Regiment M.M. St. Louis County R.C. Allen  
52nd Regiment M.M. Colored, St. Louis Frank Robinson  
53rd Regiment M.M. Macon County Dennis C. McKay  
54th Regiment M.M. DeKalb County Levi Pritchard (Lt. Col.)  
55th Regiment M.M. Gasconade County W.Q. Dallmeyer  
56th Regiment M.M. Harrison County John W. Moore  
57th Regiment M.M. Boone County Thomas J. Sutton (Lt. Col.)  
58th Regiment M.M. Lafayette County James C. McGinnis  
59th Regiment M.M. Clark County John H. Cox (Lt. Col.)  
60th Regiment M.M. Platte County Wm. J. Fitzgerald  
61st Regiment M.M. Pike County Robert McElroy  
    Pat. F. Lonergan  
62nd Regiment M.M. Randolph County A.F. Denny  
63rd Regiment M.M. St. Charles County Fred. Weineben  
64th Regiment M.M. Lincoln County A.C. Marsh  
65th Regiment M.M. Marion County J.T.K. Hayward  
66th Regiment M.M. Lewis County Robert Carrick  
67th Regiment M.M. Scotland & Schuyler Counties E.A. Kutzner  
68th Regiment M.M. Shelby County George Lair (Lt. Col.)  
69th Regiment M.M. Ralls County John A. Lennon  
70th Regiment M.M. Crawford & Phelps Counties A.A. Harrison  
71st Regiment M.M. Monroe County E.G.B. McNutt  
72nd Regiment M.M. Daviess County Joseph H. McGee  
73rd Regiment M.M. Montgomery County L.A. Thompson  
74th Regiment M.M. Benton County Richard H. Melton  
75th Regiment M.M. Callaway County J.J.P. Johnson  
76th Regiment M.M. Chariton County Peter R. Dolman  
77th Regiment M.M. Johnson County          ---------  
78th Regiment M.M. Morgan County          ---------  
79th Regiment M.M. Sullivan County Asahael Jones (Lt. Col.)  
80th Regiment M.M. Saline County Benj. H. Wilson  
81st Regiment M.M. St. Louis H.F. Vohlkamp  
82nd Regiment M.M. St. Louis Francis Romer  
83rd Regiment M.M. Bollinger County          ---------  
84th Regiment M.M. Perry County Thomas Hooss (Adj.)  
National Guard Regiment St. Louis H. Kleinschmidt  
1st Battalion M.M. Christian, Stone, & Taney Counties S.C. McCullah (Maj.)  
2nd Battalion M.M. Dade, Jasper, & Barton Counties James M. Smith (Maj.)  
3rd Battalion M.M. St. Louis William A. Steele (Maj.)  
5th Battalion M.M. Caldwell County John G. Pierce (Adj.)  
6th Battalion M.M. Worth County Adam Wall (Maj.)  
Benton Barracks Battalion St. Louis John W. McHarg (Maj.)  
Fletcher Guards Middletown, Montgomery County S.W. Hammack (Capt.)  
Clark County Ind. Co. Clark County D.A. Day (Capt.)  

 Source: Annual Report of the Adjutant General of Missouri for the Year Ending December 31, 1865. (Jefferson City, Mo.: Emory S. Foster, Public Printer, 1866), pp. 635-685. Spellings of names in the above chart remain unchanged from the original document.

2004 Kirby Ross

No reproduction or distribution without consent of author.

Feel free to link to this or any other page on the site.

Please don't hyperlink to pictures, query for copying permission.

Return to Civil War St. Louis

Hit Counter

Total site hits

Hit Counter

since January 25, 2001


Other websites by the webmasters of Civil War St. Louis:

D. A. Houdek

The Heinlein Archives

The Heinlein Society

The Heinlein Prize

Butler Public Library

Caltronics Assembly & Design, Inc.

Laura Ingalls Wilder